Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Celstron Firstscope unable to focus

Hi all, I'm new to astronomy as a hobby. I got my first telescope, the celstron Firstscope, for Christmas and I have been getting less than satisfactory results.

I've tried looking at random stars, Mars and the moon.

The stars and Mars look like little triangles when using both the included 20mm and 10mm eyepieces. The moon has given me the best results, but even that barely focuses.

I've looked at some people's advice on leaving the scope out for it to adjust to the temperatures but that hasn't worked for me.

Is there anything I can do? Thanks.

9 minutes ago, happy-kat said:

Welcome

When you are looking at the Moon with the 20mm if you start with the focuser all the way in and slowly wind it back out do you see it focus then move out past focus?

Yes when I do that it comes in and out of focus.

One thing you could do is to try it during daylight on distant objects.   You could also line up any finder the scope has.

Start with the lowest power eyepiece, that’s the one with the largest number.   Point at a distant object, building or whatever, then focus.   Keeping that object in view in the eyepiece, adjust the finder so it’s pointing to the same object visible in the eyepiece.   Without the finder being aligned, it’s a tough job pointing the scope exactly where you want to, especially at night.

Focus carefully, try any other eyepieces you may have that give a higher magnification ( lower number on the eyepiece ).

Having hopefully been successful with all this, you should be on your way to the wonderful hobby of astronomy.

Good luck, Ed.

4 minutes ago, NGC 1502 said:

One thing you could do is to try it during daylight on distant objects.   You could also line up any finder the scope has.