Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Considering full frame Osc

Allinthehead

From the specs on Takahashi America I see that the 130d has a 44mm image circle. The diagonal of a full frame sensor exceeds this at 49.5mm. I've no experience with this scope but with my FSQ-85 (same image circle specification), when I switched to a 16200 chipped camera the stars in the corners were very poor. This sensor is considerably smaller than a full frame. Now I've fitted the new flattener this has made a considerable difference.

I'd seek the advise of either Takahashi Europe or America and see what they recommend.

Andrew

6 hours ago, andrewluck said:

Now I've fitted the new flattener this has made a considerable difference.

Sorry for hijacking but would you know the backfocus distance for the flattener? Unhelpfully the manual does not seem to mention it....

15 hours ago, andrewluck said:

From the specs on Takahashi America I see that the 130d has a 44mm image circle. The diagonal of a full frame sensor exceeds this at 49.5mm. 

Sorry but I have to dispute this. I worked out the diagonal of a 36 x 24 chip and it's 43.27mm. On FLO's specification for the ASI 094 it's 43.3mm . Another fly in the ointment is that most FF chips are smaller than 36 x 24 and the one that always seems to be quoted as too big and won't work is in fact a few mm larger than 36 x 24 ( KAI 11002 )

The Canon 6D has been reported as casting a mirror box shadow but I've seen images taken with that camera and the Tak. Quite what skulduggery is going on I don't know ! I've also seen Nikon D810a images and of course the Sony A7s. That camera won't cast a mirror box shadow because it hasn't got one.

I've also seen it reported that the Tak will vignette with a FF chip but can be flatted out ( there's an image of a flat somewhere on a review site ). This does mean the corners will get less illumination than the rest of the frame but this concerns some people and not others.