Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Newbie questions re Newtonians

I've been using 4" triplet fracs for visual and some casual imaging for all my life. Recently I've been thinking about getting a larger aperture unit for better DSO visual (this will be for visual only as I'll stick to my frac for imaging). However 6" ed fracs are both too heavy and too expensive, so they are out of the question. And for big DSOs SCT/Mak with their narrow FOV have also been ruled out.

That leaves fast (f/5 - f/6) newts the only choice. Now I've never used a newt before except for looking through someone else's dob during star parties. I've heard newts require much more maintenance than fracs (the main reason I went for the fracs at the beginning). So my questions are how hard it is to keep the newts in collimation and whether I'd need a coma corrector (e.g. TV Parracor T2 and Baadar MPCC) for visual on a fast newt?

The newt I've been looking to get is the Orion Optics VX6 + 1/10 PV upgrade. Its light weight will make it fit perfectly on my existing Alt-az mount.  Anyone has experience with this scope?

Hi KP82,

For visual, I would not go smaller than 8" if you want to see any decent DSO results. 6" is just too small for a visual reflector if you want to see faint targets.

I also would not focus on getting a reflector to fit on an existing mount as the best value you are going to get is a nice 8" dobsonian, if you want goto then budget for goto as well. Having to get (a) the mount then (b) the scope and fit the two together would not be my recommendation. Balancing a long reflector tube can be a challenge.

For me, rather than spend on an expensive small mirror, I would just get an 8" skywatcher collapsible (goto or not goto, the choice is yours). The benefits of an expensive 6" mirror over a chinese import will be pretty non-existent.