Registax problem

edarter

Hi,

I'm hoping that someone can help with a pretty basic issue I'm getting with Registax. I took some DSLR images of the moon the other evening with the intention of stacking them. There are only a few images as its my first attempt at this. I installed Registax and it all seems to be fairly straight forward until it shows me the stacked image. It doesn't seem to have aligned the images at all, just stacked them 'as is'. Below is an example I've done with just two of the images while playing with settings to try and work out what I've been doing wrong, but for the life of me I can't figure it out. I suspect its a pretty basic setting I'm missing and I'm hoping someone here can say 'press that button and it will sort it'.... here's hoping!

Thanksmoon.thumb.jpg.69bb6df0deca53a79563550efacadaf7.jpg
Ed

Yep... I had the same problem when the Moon or planet drifts a lot in the frame... Registrax  is not very good at handling large movement.

I would advise to crop images and centre the moon in each frame before using Registrax ( for example with PIPP). 
Or simply try using AutoStakkert to stack and Registrax for sharpening.

Hi. I had a similar problem when I tried for the first time a few weeks ago. What camera do you have? I have a Canon so the raw files are CR2. If you install PIPP it can convert raw files to tif, fits, avi etc. It also has another trick up its sleeve. It can centre the moon in the output images. My moon shots showed a gradual drift across the field of view and when I tried to stack I got a blurry image. Tried PIPP again, read through the settings carefully and found where it says to centre the images. There is also a setting for lunar where you tell it which side of the moon has the shadow. In your example it will be top right. Registax worked no problems then after this.

tapatalk_1540335402887.jpeg