NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

OAG and focuser size

I tried out my G3-16200 tonight and with a bit of starting hardship, it worked out. Except I couldn't get my OAG camera to get any stars at all. It's my first time using an OAG, so I might be asking a stupid quesion:

Will this OAG simply not get any light from the WO71 2" focuser? Or is the ZWO-ASI120C just not sensitive enough to guide on this? I did make a BPM and darks, but actually getting a usable picture in PHD2 was beyond me.

I'd have thought you should be able to get stars on the OAG, I can using QSI683 with built in OAG and Loadstar on the Star71, colour camera won't help though.

I'd ignore the main camera and try to get Jupiter to focus with in the OAG as it's nice and bright so should show up even if it's miles out of focus, just to make sure it works, if so it's a case of getting both cameras in focus at the same time by moving towards focus on the main camera and fiddling with the guide camera to keep it focused as you go.

Dave

I have a 120mm, & PHD2 has no problems, picking stars & guiding.

I set up mine during the day, when you could easily see what is happening. I used an aerial stack on top of a tower block, that is approx. 2k away. I first set focus for the main camera, lock main focuser, then adjust the OAG, so that it is as close to focus as can be.

Note that it doesn't have to be pin sharp focus, PHD2 works better if it isn't, and as the OAG, just picks off a small portion of what's coming in, and due to parallax offset, what is centred on the main camera, may not even show on the OAG, so you will need to manually slew to compensate.

8 hours ago, Davey-T said:

I'd have thought you should be able to get stars on the OAG, I can using QSI683 with built in OAG and Loadstar on the Star71, colour camera won't help though.