Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newbie first light Skywatcher 300 and NEQ6

marksward

Two days in and two clear(ish) nights (southern hemisphere - New Zealand). Bearing in mind previously I've only used 10x50 post war binos (which I prefer to the 1990 minoltas!) so hard point of comparision is not really possible. And bear in mind I'm new to this so the laerning curve is very steep!

That over with, what FUN I've had!! The scope and mount came in 4 boxes, unwrapping finds everything well packed and protected. The mount is marked NEQ6 Pro, only difference I can see between this and the EQ6 Pro is the extension bar for the counter weights.

Everything fit together nicely.

Use:

Can only be moved around in two parts, mount (by bear hugging it!) and then the scope. Balancing for me needs all FOUR weights, though none are at the bottom of the bar.

Polar align - not done yet, don't have a power supply for the mount for a day of two hence manually sweeping the skies, so just been having fun.

Getting the finder scope and scope into alignment took some time, newbie error in using the moon to try to do it I think!

WOW the details of the moon I have seen though, have spent about four hours in two days observing, seeing more detail all the time.

Moving to Jupiter, never seen anything like it, good solid sphere, made out two 'lines' crossing it. Think I saw four moons of Jupiter. Two each side and two of them being closer together than the other two. Manually tracking a scope made for motor drive is a little 'clumsy' for me. Though I managed to get higher mag for a short while and was pretty overwhelmed.

Also managed Venus, not much detail seen as very bright, and struggled to keep tracking it manually to try out a higher magnification.

Then plenty of 'random' sweeping, like the detail though I'm sure the scope needs colminating, but also I'm no experienced observer and was discovering 'clearer' ways of observing things too.

Random thoughts: