NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Do I Have A Modified DSLR?

itsob

Hi All

I'm new to Astronomy/Astro Photography and a long time user of Canon DSLR's - particularly the 600d so I know it very well.

I recently bought another 600d from ebay and its got an amber tint to all White Balance presets - no problem for me in general use as I use a custom WB anyway and can easily get rid of the amber tint thusly. Of course I contacted the seller who offered a price reduction for the 'fault' which was satisfactory to us both. Issue resolved, everyone happy, end of story.

Now on the the 'good' bit - possibly...

During our negotiations he told me he had not tried the camera and had bought it cheaply from an astronomy enthusiast who had used it for Astro Photography and maybe he had modified it in some way - I had not told the fellow that I was planning to use it for the same purpose so I doubt that he was tailoring a suitable excuse to me. No matter anyway.

So my question is this: How can I find out definitively if this Canon 600d has had an AP modification applied to it sensor? I am a complete newcomer to the field and would not know what to expect - and I don't want to partially dismantle it to find out!

It is my intention to develop this new hobby once Spring arrives/nights are clear & dry.

Meanwhile what can I try out to see if I have had the good fortune to have landed a great tool by accident - or simply a slightly faulty sensor (that can easily be rectified with manual WB) on an otherwise pristine and low use camera.

Having used a number of Canon cameras extensively over the years the odd tint is not something I have come across previously so it does have me guessing & hoping....