Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Complete Newbie

Hi, I know absolutly nothing about astronomy but me and my daughters are interested in learning more. So first off, what would be a good telescope to buy and what would we be able to see?

My daughters, I am sure would be quite happy just to see the other planets but I want to see as much as possible lol.

I have downloaded Stellarium and been looking around but haven't really a clue as to what I am doing. I mean I zoomed in on a "red cluster" see no idea what that would be called, pretty sure it's not red cluster though lol. 7 Sgr? That would be amazing to look at for real, but like I say I don't even know if that is possible without spending £1000's.

So any websites/info/book recommendations would be appreciated. At the moment I could probably stretch to about £300. (£400 if it meant alot of difference).

Thanks in advance

Sax

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Sax, welcome to SGL. Brilliant that your kids are interested as well. There will be lots of advice given to you I imagine but mine would be to just hang around here for a while, ask questions and read the tips boards. Don't rush into buying anything yet, tempting though that may be. Whatever you decide to buy you will get something decent to start you off for £400, even more decent if you get something 2nd hand.

Hi Sax, welcome to SGL, I'll leave the decision of which scope to purchase to others on here.

Although you will see some colour through a telescope when viewing stars etc, you will not see the vivid tones that you see in the many images here on SGL and in the various magazines, these are achieved through imaging with Camera's, CCD imagers, or Web cams, our eyes just do not see all the light in that spectrum.

But this is a fantastic and captivating hobby, and i daresay you along with your daughters will soon want to be taking some nice colour pics of these fantastic sights.

Welcome aboard.

Jeff.