NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Is there something wrong with my new Mak?

Hi all, newbie here. I have just bought a 90mm Mak and tried it for the first time last night on the Pleiades and the Orion Nebula.

I used the 25mm eyepiece that came with the scope and noticed that some of the stars near the edge of the field threw out rings that went across the centre of the field. I swapped to another 25mm eyepiece I have that I haven't had problems with but the same thing happen.

I changed the diagonal to another one but still the same problem with both eyepieces.

I am suspecting now there is a flaw in the optics of the scope itself.

Or is this something that you get with Maks?

Any help would be appreciated

I wish you had a picture to back this. But on the face of your description it does sound like an optical problem. There certainly shouldn't be rings projecting to the center of your FOV.

I'd take it back to where it came from. What variety of Maksutov is this? Where did you purchase it from?

Very odd,

Dave

Hi kiwigazer and welcome to SGL. :hello2:

I am with Dave on this. Take it back.

1. If it is new then you should not encounter any issues with a reputable dealer and they should exchange it 'like for like'.
  2. If it is secondhand take it back to the seller and get him/her to refund you and/or get it corrected or collimated... then run off with your refund. I would not feel comfortable if the seller of the s/h 'scope says they will keep your money whilst it is being corrected/collimated... and when it has been corrected I still would not feel comfortable... (unless of course the seller knows what he/she is doing).

Thanks Dave and Philip

The scope is new and is actually an exchange for another scope I bought off this company. The first one which was a 70mm short refractor had excellent optics but I sent it back because the tripod was too light weight and was basically a camera tripod which I found too hard to track objects with.