Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Camera for use with Skyliner 10” Flextube Dobsonian

Callan

Hi. I have a Skyliner 250P Flextube Synscan Goto Dobsonian scope. I would like to use a camera on this scope for near live time viewing. I live in Ayrshire Scotland in suburbia with some light pollution. My main interest just now is DSO’s. The Goto on my system is ok. (When set up properly!). I realise this 1200mm f4.7 set up might not be the best for this, but I was hoping I could achieve better than eyepiece viewing. I have done some research and have come up with a selection of cameras which may or may not fit the bill. As I am a complete beginner in this aspect of astronomy, I’m hoping you guys might give some guidance on the camera choices. I realise I will need to get to grips with the software for any camera which may be chosen. Also some of the sensors may be too small to give a decent FOV with this set up, but even so if they still can be rated against the cameras chosen I would be grateful. Obviously no one person will have experience of all cameras and have their own favourites, but hopefully any feedback will be great. I don’t want to get too technical discussing pixels etc. as I just want a near live time view in colour if practical and keep things as simple as possible. If it has to be mono, so be it. The cameras I am considering are as follows.

ZWO ASI-1600MC (Panasonic MN34230 sensor):  ZWO ASI-290:  ZWO ASI-224MC:  Mallincam Sky Raider DS2.3 Plus:  Mallincam Sky Raider DS16C:  QHY 5III-224:  Rising Tech 224:  Star Vision:  Atik Infinity (I gather software is good and user friendly?): Altair Hypercam 183c:

I realise everyone has their own personal choices and may suggest  other cameras to consider , so any guidance will be much appreciated.

Thanks, Callan.

Hi callan,

Just up the road from you in Cumbernauld,

You could try 

https://astronomy.tools/calculators/field_of_view/

It will give you an idea of what you may get with your scope.