Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Dull colors and grey sky

Hello all,

I imaged M101 and I am a bit bothered by the dull colors and the greyish sky that results from my processing (in pixinsight) I cannot seem to get a good dark sky and vivid colors on the galaxy.

What do you think ? Any tips to improve ?

M101_BDE.PNG

I'm still learning PI but i just quickly ran a 4 instances on your PNG image.

I used a star mask at default then did a high S curve in curves, then a Satuturation curve, i then removed the mask and ran SCNR to get rid of the green.

Not great by any means and some time with tif and the above instances should, with some care give you some colour and darken the background.

I'm sure someone much more knowlegable will be along to show you how to do it properly.

M101_BDE.PNG.460b2a7d1fe76f9429b77c34d3a83548.PNG

8 minutes ago, MARS1960 said:

I'm still learning PI but i just quickly ran a 4 instances on your PNG image.

I used a star mask at default then did a high S curve in curves, then a Satuturation curve, i then removed the mask and ran SCNR to get rid of the green.

Not great by any means and some time with tif and the above instances should, with some care give you some colour and darken the background.

I'm sure someone much more knowlegable will be along to show you how to do it properly.

Haaa that means that I can still get more from it ! I never used the star mask and I don't know what SCNR does (Subtractive Chromatic Noise Reduction) ... I still have a LOT to learn ;) Thanks for giving it a shot it looks a lot better and the sky is way darker. I see that the "green" is responsible for the greyish sky right ?

I would have a look, a default SCNR alone should improve the colour of the image both fore and background.

I didn't notice at first look but looking again your image is quite green, SCNR is something i always run regardless, if i forget it's soon pointed out when i post an image.

Here is a link you may find helpful.