NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Skywatcher Mak 127 & EQ3 Questions

Hi All.

I'm a beginner with some questions about the scope and mount that I'm considering buying. Before that, though, a bit about myself and my circumstances...

I live in a flat with no option for back garden observing, so the equipment needs to be transportable by car. I'd rather not have to lug it too far once at the viewing site, but the car is a 4x4, so I can drive up dirt tracks and the like to get away from car parks and light pollution. I'm a mechanical design engineer and tend to appreciate mechanical stuff that is well made and works smoothly. In my line of work, dealing with angles, shapes, sizes, in 3D space is bread and butter. I can navigate using a map and compass. I read somewhere that astronomy is a learning hobby, and I'm fine with that. I have a very good pair of 8x42 binoculars that I use for terrestrial stuff, but haven't used so far for astronomy.