Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Prime Focus Astrophotography

Hello,

I recently purchased an Orion ST80 along with a Skywatcher Star Adventurer to get my feet wet. I am a photographer and know my way around a DSLR. I also modified a Rebel XS and removed the UV/IR Cut filter myself a few weeks ago. When I got the telescope, I was able to barely make out the bands on Jupiter with a 10mm eyepiece and a 2x Barlow. After that, during the daytime I connected my modified DSLR to the ST80 with an Orion Variable Camera Adapter. I couldn't focus on anything at all. I took out the variable part of the adapter and the just connected the T-Ring to the small 1.25" tube to get the camera as close to the telescope as I could and I was able to focus normally. I thought that since my target was relatively close, it required the camera to be closer. Last night was the first clear night in over a week, so I was excited to check out the moon. Again, I had to get the camera as close to the telescope as possible to get anything in focus. I snapped a few shots and I attached the best one of the bunch. It is a single shot, not stacked. I want to try to add the barlow or an eyepiece to the mix to get closer to the moon. I read somewhere that I might need another extension tube to get focus, which makes sense to me. With the variable adapter extended all the way, the camera is probably 8" away from the telescope already and throwing off the balance as it is. Also, I tried attaching the Barlow directly to the T-Ring and I still could not focus. iWould it be safe to add an extension tube or 2 to the mix? Is that the way to go, or is that asking too much of the ST80?

34308275681_1fa3f92090_z.jpg

Welcome

You'll need a 2 inch extension. To get a bigger Moon you'll have a lot more success with a webcam, the dslr has a large chip compared to a webcam.