NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Equinox 120 or WO FLT 110 Triplet

Hi all

I need some advice again. I have narrowed it down to these two scopes for simple uncomplicated viewing and was wondering if the extra £800 for the WO 110 is justifiable even with the slightly smaller aperture. Initially I will not be doing any astrophotographyas I will only be using a WO EZtouch mount and tripod but may eventually go for a EQ6 and start using it for astrophotography.

I feel the WO is more of a keeper than the Equinox and have always liked the fit and finish of a WO. I just think spending a bit more for a superior scope will be worth it in the long run.

Please feel free to change my mind as I could do with saving £800.

Vlebo,

See my signature ... we seem to be following parallel paths, except you've sold your Meade, I still have my C11.

I've no experience of using either the WO or the Equinox but have seen and touched both. Others will advise on the optical qualities but I doubt there is much in it. WO looks are second to none, but that does not automatically mean their build quality is as well, so again I doubt the WO is that much better than the Equinox, which is certainly not shabby looking anyway.

Although the apertures are similar, the Equinox admits 19% more light, so you'll almost certainly see more with it than the WO. However, your Meade admitted 5x as much light, so what you'll be able to see will be very limited by comparison. Also, I believe you intend to buy an EQ6, good decision, but don't underestimate the learning curve given your comments in earlier posts.