NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

SKY-WATCHER SKYLINER 200P FLEXTUBE SYNSCAN GO-TO 200MM (8") F/6 PARABOLIC GO-TO DOBSONIAN TELESCOPE

I've been away from the telescope market for years, so I have much catching up to do. My background is in 6-inch 'home-built' Newtonian reflectors and refractors on wobbly mounts, back in the 1970's and 80's. Today I read a reply to a post on this website about how good the Skywatcher 200P is.

Not knowing what the 200P is, I Googled it and found the SKY-WATCHER SKYLINER 200P FLEXTUBE SYNSCAN GO-TO 200MM (8") F/6 PARABOLIC GO-TO DOBSONIAN TELESCOPE on Amazon UK. 

A Go-To Dobsonian? There were no customer reviews so I'm not sure how good this instrument really is. I thought that only fork and equatorially mounted telescopes can be driven by motors - certainly not a Dobsonian.  

Diameter of Primary Mirror: 200mm
Telescope Focal Length: 1200mm (f/6)
Eyepieces Supplied (1.25"): 10mm & 25mm

Apparently, this large telescope is very portable. The  collapsible FlexTube design and SynScan computerised Go-To technology is patented, so I doubt whether other telescope manufacturers will offer this kind of instrument soon. 

Celestial objects can be automatically be tracked - according to the description on Amazon, and the patented dual-encoder design allows one to manually move the telescope anytime and to anywhere without the need for realignment! Slewing is simply pushing the tube close to an object and one then allows the computer do the rest of the work. Cool...

At £800 sterling (around $1,000), I think this is a good price for what 'could be' a really good instrument. I'm not sure of the quality of the eyepieces though, but they can be replaced any time.

This instrument looks good to me, but am I being too optimistic? 

Does anyone know how good this 200P Go-To Dobsonian really is? Can it be used for astrophotography? 

skywatcher-200p-dobsonian.jpg