NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Single shot DSO's

I am still learning stacking techniques but have found I can achieve fairly acceptable results with just single shots of about 1.6 sec exposures. Here's 3 that will not change the world but prove it can be done. Get ready to be blown away!!  I give you M13, M51 and M31  

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

Just wait until you get your stacking techniques under control.

I give you M13 single exposure.

http://astronomy.cjdawson.com/gallery/M13.html

M42

http://astronomy.cjdawson.com/gallery/M42.html

And M45

http://astronomy.cjdawson.com/gallery/M45.html

All of these were single shot.

After that lot I went back to the drawing board and have assembled my setup, rather than guiding with K3CCD tools I'm now struggling with a SynGuider II.  And taking multiple shots and stacking.  Haven't published anything yet though.

2 hours ago, cjdawson said:

Just wait until you get your stacking techniques under control.

I give you M13 single exposure.

http://astronomy.cjdawson.com/gallery/M13.html

M42

http://astronomy.cjdawson.com/gallery/M42.html

And M45

http://astronomy.cjdawson.com/gallery/M45.html

All of these were single shot.

After that lot I went back to the drawing board and have assembled my setup, rather than guiding with K3CCD tools I'm now struggling with a SynGuider II.  And taking multiple shots and stacking.  Haven't published anything yet though.

Really nice shots.

I'm getting motors at Xmas so all what I'm doing now is great practice. In fact, I think it's sometimes good to wait and get my technique improved before having all the kit. 

Having the motors will let you have slightly longer exposures, but not as long as the shots that I took.    The key to getting really long exposures is being able to guide the camera.

Programs like Deep Sky Stacker will do an align and stack, so there's not really anything stopping you from taking lots of images and stacking them now. ;-)