NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Call for SER Player Linux AppImage testers

cgarry

In an effort to produce Linux releases for more than just Debian based distributions, I have been working on a 64-bit AppImage that should run on most 64-bit Linux desktop distributions.  I am new to AppImage packages and what I am hoping is that Linux users out there to try this file on their various installations so that I can get an idea of how well this works.

SER Player AppImage:
https://github.com/cgarry/ser-player/releases/download/v1.5.2/ser-player-1.5.2.glibc2.4-x86_64.AppImage (23.7MB)

SER Files for testing:
https://github.com/cgarry/ser-player/releases/download/v1.4.0/Jup_200415_204534_R_F0001-0300.zip (16MB)
https://github.com/cgarry/ser-player/releases/download/v1.4.0/Mars_150414_002445_OSC_F0001-0500.zip (11.7MB)

To use the AppImage just download it, change the permissions to make it executable and the double-click it to run it.
More details about Linux AppImages can be found here: http://appimage.org/

Cheers,
Chris

There are a few of these cross-distribution package formats around now (AppImage, FlatPak, Snap...).  From my point of view as an App developer they are brilliant, I can deploy my niche app for Linux without having to worry about learning multiple package formats and building a ridiculous number of binaries for each release.

If the app proves to be very popular then the various distro package maintainers can always pick it up from GitHub and create an official package.

That is the theory anyway, assuming it actually works as advertised for end users.

Cheers,
Chris

11 minutes ago, uhb1966 said:

I think i have a SUSE image somewhere, can dig it out if that helps? Is there a Mac version, could test that too :)

That would save me from creating yet another virtual machine, so yes please!  There is a Mac version, the download link is on the main SER Player web page: https://sites.google.com/site/astropipp/ser-player

Cheers,