Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Want to upgrade

Hello im fairly new to stargazing and currently have a skywatcher 130 and having found this hobby to be very addictive and rewarding, and also very frustrating at times:happy8: so with that said i want to find myself a bigger scope to explore more and hopefully one day do some astrophotography, that being said im struggling to pick a new scope due to my lack of experience and was hoping to get opinions on here as to which scope would suit my needs, first ill make my budget clear im looking to spend around 300-600 preferably in the middle but would not mind one bit to spend my whole budget on a great scope that is highly recommended, id like a bigger scope to get better detail on both planets and deep sky objects but at the same time be as portable as possible, any recommendations and advice would be greatly appreciated, many thanks, welsh

Hi,

Given that you are new to the hobby and have been hooked by observing through a Newtonian/Dobsonian I would recommend that you leave any thoughts of astro photography for your next upgrade.

With your budget you could buy one of these new: https://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-skyliner-250px-flextube-dobsonian.html

That is a seriously good scope and would give you an enormous amount more detail and capability than your 130.

If that is too big, the smaller Skyliner 200P is one of the most popular scopes around and will give you fabulous views in a very manageable size and leave lots of money to spend on accessories.

Best of luck :wink:

Derek

Derek is thinking along exactly the same lines as myself - an 8" newt/dob is a great upgrade but a 10" is even better and not too much to port around if you fit carry handles. The flextube version is great (I had the 12" flextube) but in your position I might be tempted by this:

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-skyliner-250px-dobsonian.html