NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hi all, So ive been looking for a long while now at upgrading from a SW Explorer 130p to a Skywatcher explorer 200p with the eq5 goto.

My main interest would like to be exploring DSO's  visually maybe imaging them, Ive just only managed to find the easier ones (Andromeda, Orion nebula and the 2 of the other nebula in that constellation.) Since then and now orions moved past viewing time ive moved to imaging the moon and Jupiter ( I use a Canon 100D) Is this scope and mount setup a good allrounder for my still undecided focus? Also with my 130p i needed a barlow to achieve focus, will that still be required on the 200p? i Think a Truss will always be too big for the space i have (Untill my children move out and they are 1 and 4 so its not going to be soon)

I've been using a 200p on an eq5 for imaging for the past 2 years and it's do-able as long as there is no wind and it's very carefully balanced.

You won't need a Barlow to achieve focus with a DSLR. 

7 hours ago, geordie85 said:

I've been using a 200p on an eq5 for imaging for the past 2 years and it's do-able as long as there is no wind and it's very carefully balanced.

You won't need a Barlow to achieve focus with a DSLR. 

Do you tend to move the counterweight when you switch from visual to imaging? My camera isnt too large and if i dont stick a battery pack on it then im hoping that ill be okay.

7 hours ago, Steve Ward said:

My 200PDS is a handful for my HEQ5Pro if there's a breath of wind , fine for visual but a right 'mare imaging-wise for long exposures .

I have read its at the limit of the mounts capability. I do have the option of miving further down the garden to a rather mre sheltered spot. Only problem is its on grass and quite uneven.

23 hours ago, geordie85 said:

I don't do visual, only imaging so I don't need to make many adjustments when setting up.

Of course.