NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Basic Dob questions from a total newb

Just got the XT8 Plus and have a few basic questions:

1. When storing, is it ok to have the scope pointed upward? I thought I read somewhere that pointing down is better.

2. When observing, do I need to be paranoid about stray leaves and other debris falling into the scope? Seems inevitable...

3. Is it ok to just slap the Telrad finder onto the scope wherever I think works best for me?

4. Other basics I need to know?

Thanks!

Most seem to store then upwards, it is simply easiest. Gravity will cause dust to fall towards the mirror but it is very slight and very slow, put the cover on it while stored. Almost any way you store one can have problems if you think about it.

Chances of leaves etc falling in are really minimal, don't worry they are big enough to be picked out. Been a few recent posts andout worse getting in and going down, the fruit bat managing a bullseye seemed the worst (most amusing) one. Person said not to laugh but I am betting everyone did. Your main problem could be pollen, pollen can be prevelant and if it gets on the mirror it sticks a bit and it decomposses so avoid being close to a tree to reduce that.

As I recall yes you put the telrad at the best place for you, just check that whatever that is does not interfere with anything else. Say this as logically everything would be at the most convenient place for you so all in one place. Something has to give.