SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

M82 in colour and b&w

RobertI

Two captures from a very quick session last night with the Lodestar Mono. The first uses the recently acquired RGB filters and the second a luminance only filter. 

Image_2016.3.10_21.23.16.png.90fae359b58

Image_2016.3.10_21.05.08.png.8c101d271e4

Transparency was poor and in addition to the usual nearby sodium lights, the local rugby club had its stadium lights on.

I'm still learning about filters but I am pretty happy with the colour capture, and I did virtually no adjustment of colour/saturation. However there is a gradient of some sort with the sky looking redder towards the top, perhaps from the sodium lights?

Comparing the rgb and mono captures, it's clear that the mono has captured more of the dimmer information and shows more detail within the structure of the galaxy (note that the mono has slightly more exposures but even so I think the difference is there). I can understand that the mono would pick up the fainter stuff as the rgb filters block some light. Would this also explain the lower detail in the colour and if so would more stacks get the colour to the same level of detail of the mono?

Final question - how do people think that the above rgb result would compare to a Lodestar X2C with the same exposure lengths? Would the enhanced sensitivity of the X2C make up for the reduced resolution?

Any thoughts appreciated. :)

Rob