Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Jupiter in Carl Zeiss Telementor II

glennbech

I put my three Kids and better half to bed at 9 last night and packed the car. I have access to a small cabin deep in the Norwegian forest that has a decent sky. Far from perfect, but a whole lot better than home, and only 30 minutes by car. 

I brought my grab-and-go Megrez 90mm on a Vixen Portal II for some deep sky observation and the Carl Zeiss Telementor II scope mostly for fun. 

I am a very novice observer, but I include Jupiter in most of my observation sessions and have come to a conclusion that is probably entirely wrong, and I will let you guys correct it. 

It seems to me that it doesn't really matter what kind of scope you use for Jupiter. The quality of the view will mostly / almost / all of the time be limited by seeing.    

I have watched the planet in a Skymax 150 mak, Megrez 90mm doublet apo, 8" reflector and now my Carl Zeiss scope. 

I have not seen the planet give away anything other than two equatorial bands. 

Last night was actually my best ever observation of Jupiter. It was through the Zeiss Telementor and I could clearly make out structure and textre in the bands. The Zeiss 5mm Ortho Eyepiece gives a magnification of x168, pushing the limits of the 2.5", but  provided by far the best view.    

My telementor has no diagonal, and I mount it with tripod legs at maximum length. This gives a comfortable viewing position. I can just stand casually and relax at the eyepiece when Jupiter has gained some height.  

But back to my point. Would the view have been better if I looked through an 8" reflector or 6" mak at that point in time? Or is the planet deciding for itself what details to receive?