Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

The Beginner's Kit

Mafisen

Hello everyone.

I just registered here today and have spent some time browsing the forum, picking up a lot of good advice. I wrote a long post an hour ago, but when I hit submit, the page failed to load, so here I go again. I live in a small village of about 6000 in the middle of Sweden, about 300 km almost straight west from Stockholm. I will do most my stargazing from my backyard, at least in the winter time (I've been out in -25 degrees Celsius so it's good to have warmth nearby then). In the summer I'll be out in the wilderness in our caravan with very little, if any, light pollution. There are some streetlights around our house, but I can find dark spots for myself, but there is bound to be a little bit of glow from the village and streetlights. There'll be some observing over a house too.

I'm new at this. My fiancee bought me a Skywatcher Mercury 705 for Christmas. This included a 10mm EP that I've come to learn isn't very good, and a 25mm which is ok. I spoke to an expert at the retailer's, a guy named Robert Dalby, who's involved with Astro Engineering, if anyone knows him/them. Very kind and helpful man, who, after I sent them an email, phoned me up and talked to me about getting started in stargazing for about 30 minutes. On his suggestion, I bought a 7.5mm Plössl EP and an Antares dual Barlow lens. It's given me a pretty good range of magnification to start out my "career". He suggested I'd get an EP of either 12.5mm or 17mm too, but I could not afford it at the time. I'm leaning towards the 12.5mm. However, to achieve this good range of magnification, I need to use the Barlow a lot and I'm thinking I should get some EP's to not have to do that all the time. I'm going to stick with Plössls though as the kind I've bought are affordable to me (about £25-30).