NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Three Layer Mask Orion Nebula M42

bdlbug

I decided that a project this winter would be improving my ability to image and process the Orion nebula, despite the awful conditions there has been the occasional clear night and I feel ready to share my recent image I took last Thursday 7th January.

Equipment

AstroTech 106EDT that I bought from BigSumorian last year and has been used/reviewed by one of our illustrious imagers on this forum Steppenwolf aka Steve Richards, http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/36889-astro-tech-at-106-edt-refractor/

Cannon 600D unmodded

AstroTech 72ED Guide scope using a Lodestar X2 driving PHD2

Skywatcher AZ EQ6-GT.

Imaging and Processing

The January 7th image is a composite of three exposures all at ISO800 setting

30second subs,7 lights,10 darks | 60second subs, 5 lights,10 darks | 120second subs,17 lights, 10darks | Calibration subs, 20 bias, 20 flats

Unfortunately, as I am still learning how to set up for imaging, I was predominately a visual observer until very recently, I don’t think I really have a super accurate polar alignment or a good balance in my setup as I went for side by side for imaging scope and guiding scope and the unequal size/weight of each scope and camera is proving to be difficult to balance in all axis. All this results in a very crazy PHD2 guide graph and some bad periodic spikes that resulted in me dumping half of my 120s subs due to star trails.

I used DSS to stack and align all my data that gave me three TIFF files of my long, medium and short exposures, the next stage was using Photoshop to process the images and use the layer mask techniques to deliver a final image that shows some detail in the core.