SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Newbie! Celestron Astromaster 130EQ starfinder and DEC setting circle

Hi everyone

I am a complete novice and was given the above scope as a gift. I am really keen to begin observations but want to familiarise myself with the scope as much as possible. I have a few questions that I hope you can shed some light on for me:

I have had real problems aligning the star-finder with the main scope - to the point where I have had to take a step back because I wasn't getting anywhere with it. I have read reviews and many point to this star-finder as being a major downside of the scope and pretty much useless. Is there a replacement suitable that can be attached?

I have also read on various articles that often, the setting circles on these mounts are not entirely accurate. Nonetheless, I would like to learn how to master them for my own sake. I am having problems understanding the Dec circle as it has 0-90 marked on it several times. Right now it is set to a DEC of 90 with a 0 above and below it on the circle. The best way I can describe what I see is like a clock where 90 sits where the 3 and 9 are and 0 sits where the 12 and 6 are. It reads 90 (3 on clock) when facing north. If I was going west would I move towards 12 o’clock and east would be 6 o’clock? I found that if I pass these then the scope starts pointing at the ground so not sure how to look at objects past these points I do not know which set of numbers I should be using when inputting a given declination. Can someone please explain this to me?

I have SkyX software that came with the scope. My question is when facing south on the screen, it shows me a range of objects. Right now for example, I have clicked Sirius and it has an RA of 06h 45min 53s and DEC of -16'44'12''. How would you input this DEC when it has a negative number? I am clearly doing something wrong as practice in the house has resulted in the scope facing down the way!