Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

72mm ED refractor

cwit1

Hi All,  I am just starting out into the world of astrophotography and looking to get my first telescope.

I have been looking at getting an Altair Astro Lightwave 72 Ed and wondered if anyone has any experience of this scope with regard to optical quality field of view etc.

Primarily I would like to start with the brighter galaxy's, nebula etc.

I'll be using it with a canon 5d mk2 (unmodded) on a NEQ6 mount and unguided for now.

Chris.

Hi Chris

I had its predecessor, the ED70 and found it to be a good little scope. I managed to get some half decent pictures with it on an old EQ3-2 and suspect it would have started coming into its own when I got an NEQ6...but then I also upgraded to an ED80 for that little extra.

But the ED70 seemed really well built, and gave some nice crisp views visually. I think it would make a nice starter scope. But, if you are the sort of person who gets an itch to upgrade, it might be worth a look at the Skywatcher ED80. Its a fair leap costwise from the Altair if you factor in the reducer, but it is a nice scope and easy to get to grips with.

Hi Marky 1973

Yes I originally considered the Skywatcher Ed 80, and seen some outstanding images taken with it, but have also read about some issues with focuser slipping under load. 

Not sure what to make of this actually, as indeed its a scope I would seriously consider. In your opinion is this an issue? as the extra £140 or so wouldn't put me off getting one if it's considered to be a better investment in the long term.

Great images on your site by the way.

Chris.

Hi Marky 1973

Yes I originally considered the Skywatcher Ed 80, and seen some outstanding images taken with it, but have also read about some issues with focuser slipping under load.