SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

which camera for nexstar 6se

Hi I have had an interest in astronomy for a number of years but its starting to get more serious lately, Just bought a telescope (as in title) and i am a beginning newbie but I like experimenting a lot, over the past week i have dismantled a webcam and rigged it up on the telescope and I am really very please with the results, I realy want to do astro photography with a dlsr camera but need some advice as to the best (cheap) camera to buy and what tubes/"T" adapters are required probably will be starting off with planets then moving on to other celestial objects.

any help pointing me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

thanks very much

Hi

First post :-)

This thread may give inspiration if you do not have an EQ mount. If you have an AltAz moutn with your 6SE then the Earth's rotation will limit how long you can expose for.

http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/228101-the-no-eq-dso-challenge/?fromsearch=1

I choose a Canon DSLR as lots of software and user support, as a minimun look for a LCD screen. You could buy second hand and depending on budget a 600d has a great flip out lcd screen even more handy.

For connecting my Canon to a telescope I use (other suppliera are available)

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/adapters/t-rings.html

and then a

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/adapters/flo-125-inch-t-mount-camera-adapter.html

This makes it very easy to add the camera or remove it from the focuser.

Whether you would also need an extension tube or a barlow to reach fouus with a DSLR I have no idea.

For DSO and long exposure imaging you really need an equitorial mount with motors and prefereably with goto.

The 6SE and webcam will get, or enable, images of the planets. However the mount and the webcam is not really suited to long exposure DSO imaging.