Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

help with m31

I am new ro stacking and useIng DSS. Ihave taken lights (13), darks (22), flats bias(40). When i fed all data into DSS i got 6 * 2 min lights stacked out of 13 light frames.

Seemed to have stacked ok with the  adjustments that dss provides.

Then  shock horror m31 around the core was is a "ring going all around the core, with a dark gap in between.

Any suggestions on settings, techniques would  be gratefully accepted.

Iam using a 8"SCT (f6.3) and a canon 450d camera.  

I'm a beginner. I check my lights by eye, get rid of any with trailing or other faults and tell DSS to stack 100%.

If its rejecting frames and the stack percentage is less than 100%, click the advanced button and set the star detection threshold to a smaller number.

Your image seems very dark for 2 minute exposures of M31, what ISO were you using?

I have restacked the process.  Getting rid of bad flats, I get a threshold of 71  stars, I took these pics with iso 800. It was last saturday when moon was 95% full. However i did use a astronomik cks filter. Maybe this makes a big difference? 

Dean

Hi,

Don't worry about the very dark image - this is a natural consequence of stacking many frames containing mostly black.

In the processing stage of DSS you need to go to the luminance tab and alter the line (looks like a curve cutting through the histogram). Alter it using the dials on the left (changing the Darkness, mid tone and highlights) so that the steep upwards inflection of the curve occurs in the middle of the peak of the histogram. This should maximise the contrast of the image.  Once you have done that, you can fiddle with it to get a nice dark sky or smooth some of the noise.

Hope that makes sense.  :smiley:  :smiley: