NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Last night's first observation session

miafey

Last night I got back from London around 8pm and was excited that the sky was not that cloudy. 

So I took my 150PDS out for his first night!

It was a very quick session as my front garden is nowhere near ideal for a scope (grassy, slopping, blocked south by the house and north by other buildings). Still, it was a memorable session. 

I took my mount out unpowered (main to 12V adapter not arrived yet), unaligned but I familiarized myself with the movement of the mount head both in Dec and RA directions. It is different from AZ and it took me a while to get used to it. I mounted my scope and as an absolute newbie who could not see very well in the dark on my first attempt I mounted my scope upside down....

As I had no GOTO I looked at stars but had no idea what I was looking at. I have to admit I found the 6*30 finder scope supplied with my 150PDS not that easy to use. The view through it was rather dark (maybe because I'm used to the bright view from my 15*70 binos). Of course my eyes were not properly dark adapted but still, it was not easy to see dimmer objects through it. I know Telrad is highly recommended but is Telrad magnified? If not then will it be even more difficult to see through Telrad than through a standard finder? It was also noticed that with the movement of the scope the finder may at times be at a position difficult to get my eyes to. Do people rotate their scopes regularly during a session?

In the end I pointed my scope to the moon which is an easy object to find and to observe.