Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Squiggles on image

Scooot

post-20507-0-45021500-1444513448_thumb.j

I took this with my recently acquired star adventurer with my baby tak. Ive stacked it in DSS with 30 bias, no darks or flats I'm afraid. Finished processing it in Photoshop elements. This is my first attempt with the Frac so I'm not too displeased but I've noticed various squiggles throughout the image, some light red and blue. They're very obvious on my pic screen and iPad, not sure how clear they'll come out when I upload. They look as if they might be alignment problems with stacking but I'm not sure so I wonder if anyone can help.

They're "hot pixels" that will disappear when you add dark frames to the stack.

They appear as squiggles because there was a certain amount of drifting , DSS aligned and stacked the stars so the hot pixels (that are in the same position on every frame) appear to move.

They're "hot pixels" that will disappear when you add dark frames to the stack.

They appear as squiggles because there was a certain amount of drifting , DSS aligned and stacked the stars so the hot pixels (that are in the same position on every frame) appear to move.

Thanks Steve, much appreciated. :)

There's also a setting in DSS I didn't have ticked in stacking parameters, cosmetic. "Detect and clean remaining hot pixels". I've ticked this and restacked and they've vanished. Also moved the RGB histogram, so other hot pixels are now showing which I suspect would vanish with darks as you say.

post-20507-0-79786500-1444517937_thumb.j

There's also a setting in DSS I didn't have ticked in stacking parameters, cosmetic. "Detect and clean remaining hot pixels". I've ticked this and restacked and they've vanished. Also moved the RGB histogram, so other hot pixels are now showing which I suspect would vanish with darks as you say.

attachicon.gifimage.jpeg

Be careful this setting can cause "black holes" in bright stars.