Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

General use DSLR also good for ap

dreamlander

Hi, I am new to star gazing and have decided to jump from binoculars to either a celestron c9.25" or 8" edge on a VX mount. I also enjoy outdoor photography and am in serious need of an upgrade from my trusty old 8 mp Canon rebel xt. I am not even going to start thinking about DSO imaging (for now), but I think I would like to try some planetary imaging. So what should I look for in a DSLR that would make it better for astro photography? First and foremost I want a good general use camera, but can this coincide with something that works for ap, or is that wishful thinking? Anyway I will take specific suggestions or just things to look for while shopping. I would prefer to stick with Canon since I have a decent Canon zoom lens, but switching brands is not out of the question. Budget is around $1500 for a body, used or new.

On a side note how useful is the removable mirror for f/2.8 imaging on the 8" edge? I am kind of leaning toward the c9.25" at the moment as they are near the same price.

So excited!

Thanks

Canon's are a great choice for astro since they have long been a preferred brand and  accessories are easily available.  They can be used for planetary but can't compete with webcam video type cameras which have a much more rapid capture rate which then allows stacking of images to reduce noise.  Great for wider field lunar.  they come into their own on deep sky.  The requirements are high sensitivity, low noise, good red response and, obviously, ability to do long exposures.  Pixel size isn't generally an issue unless you are using very short focal lengths especially through camera lenses.  I think you should decide on what would be best for your outdoor photography since this will place much higher demands on your equipment, you can be confident it will perform well as an AP camera.