Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Guider settings in MAXIM DL

alan4908

I've been guiding with dithering now with MAXIM DL for a couple of months and everything seems to be OK. By OK, I mean that I appear to get round stars with 10m sub frames and I can consistently guide throughout the night without loosing the guide star. All this is achieved with the MAXIM DL default settings, a 25 sec guider dither settle time between subframes, a guider exposure time of 2s (with autodarks) and the EQMOD pulse guiding rate set to 0.4 sidereal. In un-guided mode, I get round stars with a maximum of 3m subs.  For my particular set up (SW ED80 with x0.85 F/R and Trius SX 26C; ST80 with Loadstar X2 and NEQ6 mount controlled by EQMOD) I took this to be a good indication that everything is set up reasonably well. So, I initially decided to leave everything alone and get on with taking images and improving my imaging knowledge.

Through the summer, I've been reading the (rather large) MAXIM DL user manual and in particular the part on guiding. I discovered that in my version of MAXIM DL (v6), multi-star guiding has been implement, I also discovered that hidden away in the advanced setting guiding menu you also have a minimum and a maximum move times. So, I was wondering how I would go about calculating some initial values upon which to experiment.