Cannot decide

Hello forum , my name is Stefan and i'm a newbie in astronomy , i have always had questions about the starts and whats in the "Deep Web" of the Universe so i have decided to get myself a telescope and i'm stuck with choosing one of the two bellow :

1. http://www.astroshop.eu/omegon-telescope-n-150-750-eq-3/p,13764 

or

2. http://www.astroshop.eu/skywatcher-dobson-telescope-n-130-650-heritage-flextube-dob/p,14966 

My question is simple , which of the two should i choose , i see the omegon one is better yet the eq3 mount kinda scares me  and the Skywatcher is more compact and i saw good reviews about it but which of the two is better ? Please help me out . Thank you !

Hi there,

Both look like good beginners scopes. Personally I would opt for the Omegon with the larger aperture (although I don't know how good the Omegon brand is). You will see more faint details and should find it a bit easier to locate targets. However, the mount looks a bit light for the scope, it may be a bit wobbly. It would be good to hear other opinions about the mount on the Omegon.

Don't worry too much setting up the mount, you will need to polar align it but it is not too difficult. You should be able to set up this telescope (ready for viewing) in less than 10 minutes. The advantage of the EQ mount is that it can follow the path of stars by moving only one axis.

On the other hand, the SW heritage is a well regarded scope, this would be preferable if you want to observe without worrying about setting up.

Hope this helps!  :smiley:

Better can depend on lots of things.

The heritage is very portable and easy to store and fast to get using. I use mine on an upturned bucket and I sit on a low stool. If you have nearby street lamps you might want to make a light shroud pretty easy to do.

I have not used an eq mount so can't comment.

Welcome