NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Adjustable eyepiece

Dom1961

I am a beginner and I dont have a lot of money to spend on eyepieces, the telescope im thinking of getting has  10 & 20 mm ep's. Instead of buying a kit, is it cheaper to buy an adjustable ep? also what is the image quality like in these?

Welcome to the forum.

Which scope are you thinking of getting? There are some reasonably priced zoom eyepieces around but they tend to work better in scopes with a longer focal ratio. Let us know the scope and then you will get better advice.

Stu

There are some excellent zooms out there but you should be aware that to get the quality you have to spend money. If you want cheap but good, Starguider eyepieces are well reviewed (available on ebay) and decent plossls can be had second hand. Personally if there's not a lot of money I wouldn't buy a zoom.

Whatever you think, I'd join a local Astro Society and look through some eyepieces before spending your money.

AndyG

The scope im thinking of getting is the Celestron 130eq without the md and it has f/5 also any opinions on the scope? I want to look at planets , the moon and maybe nebulas if this scope lets me, any decent zoom eyepiece brands or model that you know of?

The scope im thinking of getting is the Celestron 130eq without the md and it has f/5 also any opinions on the scope? I want to look at planets , the moon and maybe nebulas if this scope lets me, any decent zoom eyepiece brands or model that you know of?

F5 is quite fast, nothing wrong with that as such, but it is more demanding on eyepieces. I don't think the Seben Zoom (which was one I was thinking of too), will be very good at f5.

Do you need the EQ mount? A Dob is cheaper and easier, perhaps a 150p which I think is f8 and would probably be fine with the Seben. What is your scope budget?

I believe the cheapest Seben zoom has some plastic lenses in it. Not good !