Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Basic Questions - Please Help

Hello everyone!

So I am just a high school student that is new to the world of amateur astronomy, as I just recently bought a telescope and since it's been snowing for months (Yes, I live in Canada, lol) I haven't been able to use it. So I thought I'd learn more about space and telescopes since I barely knew anything and was interested to know more.

After reading a ton of books from the school library and checking out the local planetarium, I still have some pretty simple questions that probably seem very stupid. Lol I'm sorry, I never had anyone show me about telescopes and space, I had to pick up info on my own, anyways without further ado, here are some questions. 

• Is there a certain technique when looking through a telescope?

I know it sounds dumb, you obviously have to look through the eyepiece, which is what I do, but I don't know, it just feels very uncomfortable. My neck starts to hurt since I have to bend it down to look into the eyepiece, it feels weird how you have to close one eye on your own, and my face starts to hurt since I have to raise my cheekbone to close one eye.

• Is it really true that all specks of light that do not twinkle are planets?

I have read in many articles and books that "Specks of light that twinkle are starts and light that doesn't is a planet". Is this really true? Because I live in the city where there is a lot of light pollution, and I frequently see a strong speck of light that does not twinkle at all. Could it really be a planet? I tried zooming in on it and its still just a white dot.

• What is the point of looking at a star through a telescope?

I get looking at planets and the moon, but why do people look at stars through telescopes, aren't they still just going to be small white dots?