SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

cooling a telescope?!?!

Hi everyone I'm new to the whole hobby :) I have purchased a celestron 8se nexstar scope and I have come across a few threads mentioning a telescope should cool down before use. Can anyone give me some advice please thank you :)

Hi there. I think and am sure others more informed will correct but it refers to allowing a scope to cool down to equivalent of outside air temperature. This has the effect of reducing distortion of the light path in the tube and mirrors due to heat shimmer when the tube inside is warmer than the air outside. This usually happens when taking a scope outside and viewing straight away. I've found allowing the scope to cool for an hour before viewing affords the best visuals. Oh, do yourself a favour if you haven't already and get a dew shield for the scope.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Usually people say an hour, some will go for 30 minutes.

The easiest option is put the scope (OTA) out as one of the first items,

Then get the other bits, set up the monut and scope and plug everything in.

Then do the alignment.

By this time 15 or 20 minutes will have passed.

Then go observing.

The scope temperature may not be ideal but it is a choice view as best the conditions allow or sit waiting for the scope to cool a bit more, and ideally until equlibrium.

Ideally you would let it cool more, but lets be honest we are standing out there to observe the sky.

Equally ideally you would start your car up and let it warm up before actually driving it - bet you don't. :grin: :grin:

I do as described, the scope goes out and it cools as much as it can before I am ready to observe, I don't rush anything, then I observe. Perfect, well no, but neither are my eyes and little else. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: