Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Canon 60DA

astrodude

I have been imaging with a canon entry level (500D) DSLR for a couple of years and recently I bought a Canon 60DA. When I use it the sky background becomes very bright very quickly which washes out the target I am trying to image. I have seen some great images taken with a Canon 60da, I wonder if any members use this camera - am I doing something wrong.

The 60Da will be more sensitive, so it will be captuing more light, it will also be more sensitive at the red end of the spectrum which will be bringing in more signal. I have a stock 60d and I can manage 900 second exposures under semi-rural light pollution conditions. The images look very bright and washed out if i look at them in Canon's DPP or Adobe Bridge, however when they are stacked together and stretched the data is all there.

Thanks for your reply Frugal, up until now I have not been guiding so I have been using relatively short exposures of 2-3 minutes. This means the sky background seems fairly dark and "nice" to look at in the freshly captured images. At 3 minutes on the 60DA the background is light grey and it makes the target difficult to see. So I do not need to worry about this? I thought perhaps I was doing something wrong. 

Guernsey, west coast. So the skies are pretty dark. The only filter I use is a clear glass one to protect the camera chip. I am using a william optics FLT132 which is F/7. I try to image at about ISO 800 or 1600. It is just such a difference between a normal Canon DSLR and the DA. I can't help thinking I have a setting wrong.  

On a slightly different note; how do I list my equipment at the bottom of the post?

I find DSS produces very light images from the 60Da but look normal in P'Shop.

A lot of astro imaging is trial and error to find the best settings, at least you have a head start with dark skies :)

If you click on your user name you can edit your profile and signature.

Dave