NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Skywatcher 250px Flextube - Revelation Astro Photo Visual Kit?

Newbie here, so be nice to me please, I went to my 1st Astro Society meeting last jight. Gr8 bunch of guys who were very helpful. One of the members advised me to invest in some better eyepieces rather than the stock ones. He recommended the Revelation Astro Photo Visual Set.

Just wondered if anyone can comment on these as he used them. They are advertised for £120ish and as I am starting out, I get a lot for my money (filters, barlow lens, etc).

He had my 250px scope setup and working for me fine last night using one of his eyepieces (32mm I believe) and I was already impressed. We found Albeiro last night (a double star).

So I am hooked, and need some help from the forum please.

Going to a society meeting I can recommend as it is a steep learning curve for a beginner. I have got the confidence to learn now!!

All comments are welcome please?

Always difficult, the set you give looks reasonable, they are all stated as plossls, and as Revelation and GSO are I believe the same they will be pretty reasonable plossls.

The photo aspect of the 32mm is I suggest irrelevant, dobsonians and any imaging do not mix. The same goes for the T-ring to attach a camera. Also I have yet to read of someone attaching a camera and getting it to focus without altering the scope mirror position.

Filters, well I never use any, a coloured one on any DSO seems only to reduce light and as they are dim removing light seems odd. A narrow O-III may be useful but not I suspect coloured filters.

Coloured filters on planets, not sure about. The moon filter will be useful.

Eyepieces: As said the plossls and a reasonable selection, it stops at 9mm however. I will bet that you will want a 5mm or 7mm.