Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

A second eyepiece

Hi all,

I’m all new in the world of telescope but have the last couple of years been observing the night sky though binoculars and my dslr. 2 weeks ago I bought my first telescope (SW Explorer-150PDS, f5) and with it followed only a 28mm eyepiece, so I am missing some magnification, and hope you can help.

Would you recommend me getting one high mag eyepiece (have been looking at Nirvana 7mm, ES 8.8mm, or vixen LVW 8mm)? Or to get two "cheaper" eyepieces, say a 7mm and a 16mm? I bought a 2x Barlow along with the telescope. My budget is not that great at the moment, £ 100-150, as I am a student.

Thanks

As you are Denmark I would say the TS NED eyepieces, say the 5mm and the 8mm or 8mm and 12mm. These are the same as the BST Starguiders here in the UK and are good eyepieces. TS have them at 74€.

Alternatively are the Celestron X-Cels, slightly better choice in focal lengths with these, maybe the 7mm and the 12mm. Presently 79€ at TS so with the similar cost and the better number of focal lengths I suspect these may be a better option.

In either the 5mm should be OK in your scope, either TS NED or X-Cel.

Hi and welcome to the forum.

I use the SW 150P and have recently been adding the Celestron X-CELS to my EP case. At present I have the 5mm,7mm,12mm and 18mm and am very pleased with the performance. As you have a 2x Barlow I would add the 18mm and 12mm which will give you a nice spread of magnifications:- x125, x83.3, x62.5, x41.6 as well as the x26.8 and x53.8 you already have.

I am sure others will come along with different ideas as eyepiece selection is a personal choice and we all have our own ideas.

Good luck. 

I'd recommend BCO 18mm and 10mm, it'll cost just over 100£ for both, optically they're as good as eyepieces cost many times more, as John mentioned in this thread:

http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/228724-eyepiece-pricing-sweet-spot/