Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Mount: new or used?

mjbent

Hello all, still fairly new here but settled in a new city in Canada - Victoria! I thought I'd start my astrophotography path by talking about mounts - I don't own one right now and I really don't have the money to shell out for a new one. Arg I'm a student (albeit an astro student) and I want to eventually get into deep sky shooting in the long run. I'm wondering if finding a used mount is my better way to go right now, or should I save up and get a new one? I currently have a 10" dob, and I'm looking to acquire another scope eventually, however I think a mount is probably a good starting talking point since it seems to be one of, if not the most, cruicial element to your set up. I may be wrong but that's why I'm asking about it! I'd love to hook my DSLR to the mount too for long exposures. Thanks so much for your help and input.

The mount really is the most important part of the astro puzzle. As to whether you buy new or used, I guess that's a personal choice and also how confident you feel with the seller. I sold my mount last year, the guy was over the moon with it and it was a good performing mount - I would have been pleased with it as a second hand buy.

On the other hand you hear of folks buying a real bag of bolts.

At least with a new mount you have a warranty to fall back on - Second hand is a bit of a punt in comparison. 

So, all things considered I've bought a few things second hand - But never a mount. I rather like the idea of a warranty if it goes wrong.