NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

DSLR and filters wheel ?

Vox45

Hi all

I own a Canon 1000D and I plan to buy filters (OIII, Ha, SII) in the short term.

In order to future proof my setup I thought that I should buy my filters in a format that would fit a (future) filter wheel so when I move to a CCD camera I already have the filters part taken care of.

Naturally this brought up a question: I've never seen a setup DSLR+Filter Wheel combo. Now, this may be because I am new to this and it is in fact a common setup, I have just never seen it.

Can anyone clarify this for me, is this a good idea ? overkill ? I would hate buying the wrong filters and then have to change them in a couple of years.. and I assume that a filter wheel would be convenient for a DSLR ;)

Please let me know your thoughts on this

Hi all

I own a Canon 1000D and I plan to buy filters (OIII, Ha, SII) in the short term.

In order to future proof my setup I thought that I should buy my filters in a format that would fit a (future) filter wheel so when I move to a CCD camera I already have the filters part taken care of.

Naturally this brought up a question: I've never seen a setup DSLR+Filter Wheel combo. Now, this may be because I am new to this and it is in fact a common setup, I have just never seen it.

Can anyone clarify this for me, is this a good idea ? overkill ? I would hate buying the wrong filters and then have to change them in a couple of years.. and I assume that a filter wheel would be convenient for a DSLR ;)

Please let me know your thoughts on this