Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Location, Location Location....

Hi all,

as a relative noob I'm always looking for good sites for observing. Does anyone have any suggestions for good, dark sites I could use without having to worry about annoying the residents or upsetting a farmer by damaging a field of crops somewhere in the triangle defined by Oxford, Reading and High Wycombe?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated as my usual site has just too much light pollution for anything other than planetary/lunar obs.

Thanks,

Jon

Hi

A good starting point would be to contact and join a local / regional astronomical society as they would use / be able to advise on best dark sites in your region.

Otherwise being prepared to travel away from urban light pollution is a good plan and although requires extra effort, can become habit forming.

Hi Iain,

I did try asking my local astronomical society several weeks ago but have not had a reply. I intend to go to a meeting or 2 but they tend to hold them on evenings when I'm working and it can be tricky for me to change days/evenings off. I have no problem travelling to for observing, as long as the site is far enough away from polluted skies. I'm even contemplating a trip to the peak dstrict sometime in the autumn when the nights will be long enough to allow a few hours of staring into space!

Jon

Hi Jon