Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What software to go for??

I have been imaging for about 24 months now and would like to improve my capture and focus routines but still feel an astro newby! :lol:

Currently, I use APT to control my Canon 650D DSLR, Cartes du Ciel & PHD to control my Magnificent mini auto guider.  I have aHEQ5 pro mount which I have to set up each occasion I go out to image, ie not a fixed mount and control through my laptop.

I have heard of Astro Tortilla for plate solving.  I think this is just for accurate alignment of my gotos but would like to know if it can also me used for aligning the same target over multiple imaging nights so that I can gather loads of data of that target over time??  I hope some one can advise if this software can do this or alternatively, how I can ensure that the target is accurately targeted each night.

I have also read about nebulosity as a capture and pre process software.  Is it worth the outlay to buy this software rather than just using APT or BYEoS?  I would like to get into dithering the DSLR.  Can Nebulosity do this or even APT?  If so, how would i set that up.

I am also looking into autofocusing.  I have seen the Lakeside focuser and wondered how this stood in people's recommendations.  I see it is expensive but it is a stepper motor and can be used for auto focus & temp correction.  Are these important considerations?

I use PHD to guide and note that it can be linked to APT or Nebulosity.  What is the benefit of linking PHD into these programs rather than running separately as I do now?

Sorry so many questions in one topic, hope you guys can guide me in the right direction to improve my set up and routine.  Have made some expensive mistakes in the past with buyng gear not really knowing what I am doing!