Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Celestron nexstar vs Skywatcher P200 - and hi!

Hi there,

I'm Jason, I'm 39 and 11/12th's old and as you may have guessed....I have a big birthday (and present) coming up soon...and having noticed the near total lack of 'what telescope' threads on here, thought I'd start my own ;)

I'm looking for my first telescope in 25 years...so effectively I'm a beginner....but I dont want a beginner scope that I'll want to upgrade in a few months if (if!) I really take to this astronomy lark once again. Plus I have a couple of young kids that may (or may not) want to get involved once it's up and running.

I've done the usual internet searches (including this great forum by the way - it's got a nice, non cynical friendly vibe about it) and I've narrowed it down to 2 main options with a potential third. I keep going round in circles as to which one will suit best - any advice especially from people who have used these scopes would be appreciated.

1st option: SkyWatcher Explorer 200P EQ5 SynScan GOTO Newtonian Telescope

The sort of aperture that I would've dreamed of as a young astronomy obsessed teenager back in the day. Has a GOTO mount which will be great to save time finding things for the kids (and me), plus comes with a number of eyepeices and accessories that'll have me sorted for quite a while. 

But it's massive. I have space (in theory...and practice) in the outhouse/shed, but as anyone with a family knows, any space you have for storage gets filled up pretty quickly. This would take up a fair bit of space. Not a deal breaker, but something to think about. The telescope itself seems to get really good reviews, I couldn't see me growing out of this any time soon.

2nd option: Celestron Nexstar 6SE