Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

OIII vs continuum?

Thalestris24

Hi all

I've no doubt this has come up before but I wonder if anyone has done a comparison between the two? I'm a newbie solar imager and am looking to improve my white light imaging... (Anything would be animprovement!). I was also thinking that if the OIII works ok with solar then I could use it for night-time too :p

I imagine both are quite dark when used with ND5? Are there any difficulties with being able to see to focus the OIII filter? I understand the solar continuum filter needs a good IR cut filter when imaging - but can get away without with the ccd-OIII?

Thanks

Louise

Hi Louise , 

I always use an OIII filter in the mix for my full disc DSLR images , helps considerably with the Contrast and Granulation , but I am using the ND3.8 Imaging film to keep exposures at a reasonable level , the ND5.0 will mean longer exposures.

I use it over a Continuum in this set-up purely because I already had one in the box of bits and it did the job which saved me spending another £100 on a 2" Continuum ...  :grin:

For the Close-ups with the wedge and Mono webcam I splashed out on an 1-1/4" Continuum and in conjunction with a UV/IR Block it's a winning combo.

Give the OIII a try with various settings and see how you get on , contrary to popular belief you do not need to be at 1/1000 - 1/2000s @ ISO100 , I rarely get above 1/400 @ ISO200 and have got good crisp detail right down at 1/60s before now when shooting through cloud  , as I've said before though the most critical point is nailing the focus .

Hi Steve

Thanks for that. Problems with getting focus is one of the reasons I was considering a narrowband filter. I've been trying to image with my ST80 and sharp focus has eluded me. I've been trying with a cls-ccd and a UHC but still can't quite get it :(. Wondering if the solution might have to be a better scope...

Any recommendations?

Cheers

Louise