Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Starting up Sky-Watcher 130p

Hi everyone, 

i am a complete novice to appraising the heavens through a tube with mirrors and would like some advice. I have a Sky-watcher 130p with EQ2 mount ( B-day present as requested from my wife) which came with a 10mm and 25mm super wide eyepieces. I also got a 2x barlow (standard quality if not cheap) and green hue filter (asked for moon). I have been extremely pleased with the views of Jupiter although its famous storm is hiding on the wrong side atm, i was gobsmacked when i could see the rings on Saturn. Then i realised a little patience paid off and i noticed the little sparks of light in a line with both planets were not just the reflections of crappy optics but their moons i came to the conclusion I need more........

So this is where i draw upon the vast knowledge here and ask for your help. I would like to purchase some accessories...barlows, eyepieces, filters or whatever would help.

I understand that i cant go and buy some televue 5x barlow and expect the universe to be burned into my retina but can i ask for some sensible advice? Ihave looked at a 3x barlow and some 6mm eyepieces i don't mind spending some money on quality kit now and not regretting it later (always a new scope on the horizon) 

thanks in advance

Heya and congrats with your new telescope and obviously a good start using it.

I will be careful  to advice you on equipment to buy, but to be a little patient.

Have you had successful views of planets and lunar with the 10mm barlowed?

Regards

Rune

You should get the BST starguider 8mm very good views on the planets with and without the 2x barlow but its about the max you can go with the 130p at 4mm with the barlow. I have the 5mm too which is great too.

Made it better with a sturdier mount Heq5.  

I have the same scope and I get some nice results with the 10mm and 2x barlow as long as the seeing is good.