NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Need Help Stabilizing my Telescope

Hi there I'm a absolute beginner astronomer here, looking for some help balancing all my equipment. I just recently purchased my first telescope, a Celestron Astromaster 130EQ (with motordrive.) So far I'm really liking it, I even managed to shoot a short HD video of the moon with it (link below.) I am however having some issues balancing my scope. The main problem I'm having is that one side of my scope (the side with the eyepiece) is too heavy, causing the whole scope to be unstable. It's an even bigger problem when I attach my DSLR to the telescope. So anyways from what I hear having your scope in balance is extremely important, so I was just wondering if anyone knew of any quick and cheap solutions to achieving better balance with my telescope. Also any other beginner astronomy tips will be greatly appreciated. :laugh:

Thanks, Malcolm

When you are going to be using it with the camera attached I would recommend rotating the 'scope in the rings so that the focuser is pointing along the same line as the counterweights.

This will eliminate the serious balance issue but will make framing and focus a little tricky , to help with this I would run a long USB lead from the camera to a laptop and monitor things on a big screen from a distance.

When you are going to be using it with the camera attached I would recommend rotating the 'scope in the rings so that the focuser is pointing along the same line as the counterweights.

This will eliminate the serious balance issue but will make framing and focus a little tricky , to help with this I would run a long USB lead from the camera to a laptop and monitor things on a big screen from a distance.