Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Good amateur rig for AP?

Hi everyone, complete newb to the forum and hobby, but I have been wanting to get into astrophotography for years. I've done a bit of AP with my DSLR, but I really want to get into deep field photography and take pics of NGC and Messier objects and such. I have done some research and came up with this combo:

Meade Series 6000 115 APO

Orion Atlas EQ-G

Ive heard decent reports from the Meade, but Ive also heard there are comparable APO's that cost less...

I also hear that Ill need a field flattener with the Meade. I have a Canon 50D, what mount do I need to hook it up.

Additionally, will I be able to attach a laptop and control the Atlas?

Thanks in advance.

Matt

OK, at the risk of sounding like the proverbial broken record, get a copy of "Making every photon count" by Steve Richards, "Steppenwolf" of this forum. Read it at least twice and ask plenty of questions. Remember, the only stupid question is the one you didn't ask.

I will also say that any AP rig starts with the mount. Buy the best you can afford, then worry about the 'scope. Plenty of brilliant photos shot on ED 80 'scopes, but they're mounted on serious equatorials costing maybe two or three time as much as the scope.

Oh, and did I say read "Making every photon count"?

Whatever you don't rush to spend your money, what's up there isn't going anywhere fast.

I'm sure more knowledgeable people than I will be along with more detailed info.

Oh, yes, in case I didn't mention it, read "Making every photon count"

Edit

The Orion Atlas, as we know it the Skywatcher NEQ6 is a pretty good starting point.

Do you also want to look visually with your scope?