NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Advice on a purchase already made

Hello,

I'm new to SGL (do newbs get the right to abbreviate? :p) and I received a Celestron LCM 114 newtonian reflector for my 21st birthday last month, which after some quick browsing of threads here, I am now having doubts.

For some reason I didn't look at this forum when selecting a telescope, that's not to say I didn't do any research, I looked at reviews on different retail websites and they seemed to be pretty good for a beginner's telescope, so I selected that one and my parents got it for me :D. I've only been able to use it properly until recently because of the weather in the UK and I'm really enjoying it. I'm about to start going to remote fields in nearby villages where I can get away from light and begin recording in a journal, however, I'm starting to worry that I've chosen the wrong telescope.

In short, I need advice on how to get the most out of this telescope, since it's way beyond returning now, and I feel I need to use it properly not only to satisfy my hunger for stargazing, but I feel bad for my parents. I'm sure in a couple of years I can upgrade, but for now I need to focus on my current telescope.

George

Hello George

I have the Astromaster 130EQ, which may not even have been the best choice by me, but like you can't afford to change it and trying to get the most out of it. I don't know what EP you get with your scope but on mine there is a 20mm and 10mm. The 20mm is great but the 10mm is pretty poor. I've since bought a better quality 8mm and that is so much better.

To get the most enjoyment out of the scope you really need to learn all about it first and decide on where you want to improve. With mine the RDF that comes with it was of no use to me so I bought a better finder scope. After that it became much easier to at least get the scope in the right place.