NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

need help with skywatcher 200

Hi totally new to this

ive just got my skywatcher 200 ive upgraded from celestron gt90 but when viewing jupiter i can see better with my old scope than with the skywatcher. The reviews were brilliant for the telescope so i think its me thats the problem do i need to adjust mirrors or anything else im unaware of? Any help will be usefull thanks

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If you defocus slightly on a bright star you should see fuzzy rings around the star... They should be concentric , of not then you'll need to check your collimation.

I've a 6" mak and a 10" reflector and the reflector is much better on Jupiter than the mak ... But only when the collimation is spot on !

When i see jupiter with the wee telescope i see two rings round it and its quite crisp what am i realistically going to see if there is an improvement? Total novice its not that il be disapointed in what i see its the fact i dont know what to expect lol

hi from a fellow Glaswegian

I love my Skywatcher 200 but nothing to compare it to apart from an old 4" scope I had years ago

is the problem image quality or magnification

could be you just need to tweak your setup as I thought I had mirror issues until I found out I still had the camera mount
in place that wasn't supposed to be there after that its just got better

Taking into account the comments above (particularly those about collimation), you've not specified what size EPs you are using.  I know absolutely nothing about the 2 scopes that you have, but I know from my own personal experience with my two scopes that 1 set of EPs may not necessarily 'fit all'.

Generally speaking, for the higher power EPs and the lowest power EPs, I need two different sets - 1 for each scope.  There is some overlap in the middle range.